The Hon. Scott Morrison MP

The Hon. Scott Morrison MP is the Treasurer and a senior member of Prime Minister Turnbull’s Cabinet and Expenditure Review Committee.

Minister Morrison was appointed Minister for Social Services on December 23, 2014 and was responsible for driving the Coalition Government’s welfare reform strategy that is designed to increase the economic participation of Australians and to ensure the long term sustainability of Australia’s welfare safety net.

Prior to serving as Minister for Social Services, Minister Morrison was the Minister for Immigration and Border Protection where he also served on the National Security Committee of Cabinet and he successfully implemented Operation Sovereign Borders, that ‘stopped the boats’, saving lives and restoring public confidence in Australia’s immigration program.

Local Office

the cook electorate

The Cook electorate is named after Captain James Cook (1728–79), the first European to discover the east coast of Australia in 1770.

The Cook electorate covers an area of approximately 94sq km from Kurnell and Cronulla in the east to Sylvania and Gymea Bay in the west and from Kyle Bay, Monterey and Botany Bay in the north to Dents Creek and Hacking River in the south. Suburbs include Monterey, Beverley Park, Blakehurst, Burraneer, Caringbah, Carss Park, Cronulla, Greenhills Beach, Gymea, Gymea Bay, Kyle Bay, Kurnell, Lilli Pilli, Miranda, Sandringham, Sans Souci, Sylvania, Sylvania Waters, Taren Point and Yowie Bay.

The electorate of Cook is in the local government area of Sutherland Shire Council, Kogarah City Council and Rockdale City Council.

The local state members of Parliament are Mark Speakman SC MP, Member for Cronulla, Eleni Petinos MP, Member for Miranda, Mark Coure MP, Member for Oatley, Chris Minns MP, Member for Kogarah and Steve Kamper MP, Member for Rockdale.

Stay connected with Scott as the Federal Member for Cook

Keep informed on issues, events and announcements happening in the Cook Electorate. Subscribe to our newsletter today.