The Cook electorate is named after Captain James Cook (1728–79), the first European to discover the east coast of Australia in 1770.

The Cook electorate covers an area of approximately 94sq km from Kurnell and Cronulla in the east to Sylvania and Gymea Bay in the west and from Kyle Bay, Monterey and Botany Bay in the north to Dents Creek and Hacking River in the south. Suburbs include Monterey, Beverley Park, Blakehurst, Burraneer, Caringbah, Carss Park, Cronulla, Greenhills Beach, Gymea, Gymea Bay, Kyle Bay, Kurnell, Lilli Pilli, Miranda, Sandringham, Sans Souci, Sylvania, Sylvania Waters, Taren Point and Yowie Bay.

The electorate of Cook is in the local government area of Sutherland Shire CouncilKogarah City Council and Rockdale City Council.

The local state members of Parliament are Mark Speakman SC MP, Member for Cronulla, Eleni Petinos MP, Member for Miranda, Mark Coure MP, Member for Oatley, Chris Minns MP, Member for Kogarah and Steve Kamper MP, Member for Rockdale.

The Members for Cook

  • Morrison, S (LP) 2007–
  • Baird, B (LP) 1998–2007
  • Mutch, S (LP) 1996–1998
  • Dobie, J D M (LP) 1975–1996
  • Thorburn, R W (ALP) 1972–1975
  • Dobie, J D M (LP) 1969–1972

(Note: at the 1968 redistribution a new Division of Cook was established.)

  • Cope, J F (ALP) 1955 (Note: following the 1955 redistribution the Division of Cook became part of the Division of Grayndler.)
  • Sheehan, T (ALP) 1937–1955
  • Garden, J S (ALP) 1934–1937
  • Riley, E C (ALP) 1922–1934
  • Catts, J H (ALP) 1906–1922

For more information and for how to enrol please visit the

Stay connected with Scott as the Federal Member for Cook

Keep informed on issues, events and announcements happening in the Cook Electorate. Subscribe to our newsletter today.